GUHSD Students Recognized at Journalism Reception

GUHSD Students Recognized at Journalism Reception
April 2011 - The Arizona Interscholastic Press Association (AIPA) celebrated their annual Spring Awards Reception last night at ASU's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications.

The evening featured keynote speaker Tim McGuire and recognized advisers of the year, Student Journalist of the Year, and newspaper awards.

Among the night's award recipients was senior Kelsie Blazier (GWHS) who was named Student Journalist of the Year. Blazier, who serves as editor-in-chief of the Demon Dispatch, was awarded a $500 scholarship and was entered into the national Student Journalist of the Year contest.

Apollo, Greenway, Moon Valley, Thunderbird, and Washington High Schools walked away with "superior," "excellent," and "honorable mention" awards in various newspaper contest categories.

Additionally, Thunderbird High School students Katie Binkley and Miranda Motsinger were recognized for winning Gold Keys in the International Writing and Photo Contest for 2011.

The evening concluded with recognition of the AIPA board members among whom are Sheri Siwek (THS) and Melanie Allen (MVHS).